Killing it.

28 Oct

I was reading through some really great blogs recently when I came across this one about Twitter.  I’ve been meaning to write a post about all this “professional Twitter” stuff but haven’t gotten around to it.  I’m going to try and formulate my thoughts here in one coherent post.  

I am the Twitter generation

It is my generation that has catapulted Twitter into the limelight over the past few years.  It is my generation that started live-Tweeting, RTing and DM-ing like nobodies business.  It is my generation that actually created and developed Twitter.  The strange / sad reality is that the generation that raised us- our Aunts and Mothers and Fathers- who are working in the “real world” currently are what will kill Twitter.  Mark my words.

If there is one thing my generation doesn’t like, it’s being bombarded with advertisements and promotions.  We don’t want to be marketed to.  We have DVR and subscriptions to NetFlix just to avoid commercials.  As a generation we’ve gone from sporting Hollister and Abercrombie graphic shirts (walking billboards!) to opting for neutral, natural clothes with little to no branding on them. 

You just don’t get it

One of my favorite sayings is “thinking outside the box assumes there is a box.”  This is SO true, and I apply it to my life in many ways.  The problem is that instead of thinking forward and trying to find what the future of marketing / advertising is, advertisers flock to the social media where we already are and guess what happens?  We leave.

It hasn’t happened yet, but advertisements were what killed MySpace.  We were sick of being marketed to and there was this (relatively) new and exciting thing called Facebook that New York based advertising big wigs hadn’t latched onto yet.  We escaped for a more serene space.

We did it with Twitter, too.  Advertisements got creepy and now we’ve branched to Twitter, and although we’re still strung together by the idea of seeing friends and family members updates, we use Twitter for the fast paced social media outlet that goes along with our lives.  It’s what we’re drawn to.

So why?

Well, we’re already there.  We have Twitter accounts and you can now promote your Tweets, just proving that whatever amount of money you have can buy you some time on my computer screen.  But I don’t like it.  I don’t want it.

I’ve added these professional networking connections to my Twitter family specifically for class, but I firmly believe that the “professional” crowd are discounting Twitter.  It is not the board room of a fortune 500 company, it’s supposed to be like sitting around your best friends living room drinking a beer.  No one gets it.

 

The takeaway: Twitter and Facebook will be killed by advertisements (and old people) if we’re not very, very careful.  We don’t want it and we won’t put up with it.  As a generation we’re already looking for our next outlet. 

 

PS- Not everyone agrees with me.

2 Responses to “Killing it.”

  1. Gini Dietrich October 31, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    It’s kind of funny because that Spin Sucks article you have in your PS is written by a Gen Y’er. And the ones who work for me much prefer Facebook to Twitter. I’m Gen X and I LOVE Twitter. So I’m not sure it’s a generational thing so much as a personal preference.

  2. Chaz Jennings November 19, 2012 at 2:40 am #

    Great post Logan. I too find this subject very interesting…because I don’t think anyone really knows what will happen. I like the idea of our generation not wanting to be advertised to because in reality, we are always being advertised to. I also think we are to the point that for an ad to be effective, it needs to wow us. If it doesn’t wow us, we aren’t interested. Which makes me think we like be advertised to up to a certain level. I don’t know if anything is cool enough to really take Twitter off the map though….We all want to be a part of something while still being unique…who knows what the future holds.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

